On the go

As a student constantly on the run, packing a lunch that doesn’t consist of microwaveable products can be problematic. But not impossible. Putting aside the Hot Pockets and frozen chicken nuggets is simple enough–the alternative meal requires a bit of resourcefulness.
I come from a family of six, so in my case, there are usually leftovers I can choose from. Note: You are going to have to spend about 5 minutes on this lunch.
I found a salad from last night, and then added my own flair to it.

20140115-092341.jpg
The salad already had corn, tomatoes, and black olives. To give it a little extra taste for your buds, I added blueberries to the mix. Because a vegetarian diet requires a person to replace their protein intake, I made sure to add garbanzo beans as well. Any mixture of nuts would do, too.
I like to have some bread in my meal, so I went ahead and packed a roll.

The environmental benefit:
About 815 gallons of water saved by not eating those chicken nuggets in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

