Kale, Tofu, & Tomatoes!

Hello!
Today, while my mother cooked an empanada filled with turkey and green beans, I experimented with a creation of my own. This weekend’s grocery trip brought home a giant bag of kale (courtesy my mom), so I got to work on something including the leafy substance.
I began with a big pan filled with some olive oil (best ingredient ever). Then I washed and placed the kale in the pan with some water. Note: the kale will shrink as it cooks; I suggest putting a handful more kale than what you would like cooked. After placing the lid on the pan, allow the kale to steam.

20140119-233446.jpg
In the ten minutes that you’ve got the kale on the stove, we bring in the next ingredient… tofu. Mmmm. I used extra firm tofu, but any kind would do. Dice it up, and toss it in the pan once the kale has been steamed.

20140119-233735.jpg
This is when I like to get fancy with a couple of my favorite spices: paprika and cinnamon. I’d like to say it’s a 3:2 ratio of paprika to cinnamon. Go with your whims. Add some sea salt. Smell the steam.

20140119-233757.jpg
To lighten up the overall flavor, I diced up a few fresh tomatoes once the kale and tofu were done.
This dish took me about 20 minutes. Enjoy!

20140119-233827.jpg

Leave a Reply

