Fruity Kale Salad

Like any person who loves cooking, the weekend is an especially good time for experimentation. I hit the grocery store, bringing home red pears, gala apples, Granny Smith apples, mangos, cilantro, kale, and avocados (of course, ice cream was in the haul, too).
Kale has become a bit of a favorite of mine, and today I was simply in the mood for leafy foods. I thought fruit would give the kale some flavor and just make it that much more awesome.
At first, I attempted kale chips. Um. I took my eyes off of them for a moment and ended up with…

20140202-212440.jpg
Alas, that was a disappointment. But I still had plenty kale, and another idea.

  • Choice amount of kale
  • Diced mango
  • Sliced avocado
  • Lemon juice
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cilantro
  • This was purely experimental (I would make it again). However, I have no idea how long it took to make really.
    Without further ado, step 1…

    20140202-213233.jpg
    Wash that kale. The amount is entirely up to you. It won’t be cooked, so it won’t shrink.

    20140202-213404.jpg
    Chop up said kale. Peel and dice one mango (I clearly lacked skill in that area. Let me know if there is a simple way to slice and dice a mango that doesn’t include maiming it).

    20140202-213612.jpg
    Squeeze lemon juice on the kale. If you let this sit, it will soften the leaves a bit. Then add the mangos to clear the cutting board.

    20140202-213837.jpg
    Mmmm, avocado time. Tip: Slice the avocado before scooping it out with a spoon.

    20140202-214115.jpg
    Then add cilantro. Season with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

    20140202-214232.jpg
    This serves about three.
    Also, I’m at a point with the veggie based diet that processed foods make me feel sick. I think that’s a good thing?

    Leave a Reply

    