Guacamole, Beans, Lettuce, Oh My!

It appears as though Wednesdays are quite favorable days for snow storms this season, so of course, school was cancelled and I had yet another day in.
While the majority of my family indulged in some Burger King, I decided to, as always, get creative in the kitchen (although I do admit to having a container of fries all to myself–it couldn’t be helped!). I still had an untouched avocado at my disposal and a bunch of cilantro sitting in the fridge. So I got thinking, and here is what I came up with.

  • Red beans
  • Cilantro
  • Iceberg or Hearts of Romaine lettuce
  • Avocado
  • Lemon juice
  • Olive oil (big surprise there)
  • Tortilla chips

    20140205-204210.jpg
    First, I decided to make good ole guacamole. Scoop out those avocado guts and put them in a bowl.

    20140205-204246.jpg
    I squeezed in about half a lemon’s worth of juice (this also keeps the guac from browning).

    20140205-204316.jpg
    Add cilantro. Typically, diced tomatoes would be added now as well, but alas… we were out of the controversial and rotund fruit (or veggie?).

    20140205-204335.jpg
    Mix and mush it all. Set aside.

    20140205-204357.jpg
    I found a can of red kidney beans. Warm them up (not in the can).

    20140205-204417.jpg
    Put the warmed up beans on top of a plate of lettuce.

    20140205-204426.jpg
    You got the guac. Just have some chips and you are all set!

  • 2 thoughts on “Guacamole, Beans, Lettuce, Oh My!

    Leave a Reply

    