Featured Recipe: Salsa, Salad-Style

Frugal Feeding, a food blog I follow, posted a recipe for a Tomato and Red Onion Salsa. I decided to hit the grocery store for some ingredients, and put my own twist on the recipe.
I made the salsa similarly, though instead of dicing the yellow bell pepper, red onion, and tomatoes, I made bigger chunks. I left out the coriander and the chili, since I was cooking for the family and a majority of them do not enjoy spicy flavors.

20140402-130752.jpg

While I was chopping up the veggies, I boiled water and cooked quinoa, taking about 15 minutes.
At the end of it all, I mixed the chopped up red onion, yellow bell pepper, and tomatoes with the quinoa in a big bowl. I squeezed a bunch of lime juice, remixed it, and voilá, salsa salad.

20140402-130959.jpg

Leave a Reply

